WATERCOLOURS IN THE RAIN – What readers have to say…

It was so refreshing to be back in Lynbrook. It was like coming home! Jo Lambert has created such an interesting and complex community with equally interesting and complex characters, each adding such an important dimension to the story. I really enjoy books that are written from the main characters view points and Jo Lambert has done this seamlessly, combining the stories of Jess, Talún and Lily. Jess has grown up and matured and has returned to Lynbrook. A surprise regarding her financial security has left Jess able to pursue her dreams and take a break from her teaching job. Talún too is trying to move on from a personal tragedy and Lily remains manipulative and with a jaded view of life. She will get what she wants at all costs.

While this is the second book of a series it can without a doubt be read as a standalone. I have read the first book but would not have been left at a disadvantage if I hadn’t read it. Although it is rather good so for that reason alone I’d recommend it! Check out the review for Book 1, Summer Moved On HERE.

I have been following Jo Lambert’s writing career for a few years now and I’m always thrilled to find that I love all her books with Watercolours in the Rain being no exception. Its extremely well written in a style that really gives the reader a sense of place. Each of the characters is memorable for different reasons and I even found myself drawn to Lily whose complex personality really interested me. Looking forward to whatever wonderful bookish delights Jo offers her readers in the future! Highly recommended

JBJ October 2016 5* review

-o0o-

This really was an excellent story, with strong, vividly drawn characters – and it was a real page-turner. There is a new maturity to Jo Lambert’s writing that it was a joy to see – I was incredibly impressed by the way she creates and maintains three quite distinct voices (Jess, Talún and Lily) and their separate points of view, moving between them comfortably, seamlessly and with total ease. And I loved this book’s pacing – I looked forward to returning to it each time I had to put it down, with a real eagerness to discover where the story was going.

I was maybe a tad surprised initially at where the story started from – I’d rather expected an immediate continuation of the first book. But picking up the story in this way – after everyone’s lives have moved on a little – worked really well. If the writing has matured, so have the characters – although some (like the appalling Zac, who was as obnoxious as ever) seemed barely to have changed at all. Lily is a quite wonderful creation – any inkling that she has suddenly become all sweetness and light soon dispelled. And the separate stories of Talún and Jess – with a constant hope that this will become their joint story, however impossible it may seem – are every bit as engaging as was their youthful romance and betrayal.

There are some welcome new characters in this book, while others have taken a step back. I really liked Anna, the kind of strong, slightly more mature, female character I always enjoy: and, although I’m often not a great fan of children in books, young Josh was just wonderfully drawn, a young individual even I could love.

And I really must mention, please don’t get the impression that this book is only “part two” of something. There’s absolutely no reason why it shouldn’t be read as a stand-alone, with a strong and engaging story that has a clear start, middle and end. The past is very much part of the present story, but any gaps are filled really effectively for a first-time reader. A really lovely read – and one that I thoroughly enjoyed.

WA October 2016 5* review

-o0o-

Six years on and we are back in Lynbrook village – Talún has found his long lost family and is living and working on the family estate in Norfolk and has not been back to Lynbrook since.
Jess receives a surprise inheritance from her uncle and so gives up her teaching job and returns to her uncle’s pub in the village while she decides what to do
Lily is doing ok for herself – she has got a job she enjoys and is making ends meet for herself and her son, but surely there is more to life than this!

When the estate comes up for sale in Lynbrook Lily is part of the marketing team for it and so meets up again with Talún and convinces him that her son is the result of their one night of passion at Jess’s party and so the two of them move into the Hall
Jess is determined that she has moved on and has no interest in Talún and he thinks that she is cold and moved on years ago an lost no time in replacing him when she went to university but how will they feel when they both learn the truth and how can they act on it now that he is engaged to Lily and there is a child involved!

Great to be back in Lynbrook with all of the old characters – good light hearted read great for the beach.

SAC October 2016 4* review

-o0o-

I wondered in my review of Summer Moved On how Jess and Talun’s worlds could ever come back together again with the distance between Amberleigh and Lynbrook … July 2012 and Jess receives the phone call from Rufus that changes all her plans and sees her back in Lynbrook. August 2012 and we find out the devastation that happened to Talún in the intervening five years. He’s vulnerable and lost his passion for life. Anna, his step-grandmother, sees an opportunity in Lynbrook Hall for Talún to get involved with a project … not knowing his truthful history with the village. October 2012 and we find out what happened when Lily returned to Pauli and her ambitions and hopes. So first we have Jess back, then Talún and Lily. And what a potent mix they are! Early on in the story I have to admit that I thought Lily had matured. How wrong I was!

I loved the pace of this story. In true Jo Lambert style there is plenty of secrecy, intrigue and conflict. The friendship blossoming between Anna and Jess was a beautiful part of the story and I wondered if it would weather what was coming.

Jo is skilled at creating characters to dislike and oh my! I disliked Lily intensely. She made me so angry and several times I had to put the story down (in a good way) so that I could calm down. Just when you think it can’t get any worse …

Talún HAS matured in this second novel and I loved him for his sacrifices although he’s still an alpha male and there were many times I had my head in my hands at his naiveté. You just have to love his vulnerability (and of course he’s hot!).

I wasn’t sure if Jess and Talún would ever get their happy ending. The lead up to the ending was nail biting and tense.

Even though Watercolours in the Rain is the second novel, there is enough back story that it can be read as a stand alone (although I do think you should read Summer Moved On for the history – the force of the angst and conflict between the characters).

SG December 2016 4* Review

-o0o-

I had been looking forward to reading this book since reading ‘Summer Moved On’, and I was not disappointed.

It was great to read more about the characters from the previous book, and also find out what they were thinking as this book is written in first person, which I really enjoyed.

Some of the characters are more likeable than others, and it is great to see how their minds work in each individual section.

I couldn’t put this book down. I am looking forward to the next novel by Jo Lambert.

 RE December 2016 5* Review

-o0o-

 A night of deception changed the lives of Talún and Jess, their relationship came to an abrupt end and they both went their separate ways. Fresh starts, new lives and moving on, a twist of fate brings them both back to the village at the same time for different reasons.

Talún now the heir to a fortune and living a good life, is an easy target for scheming and manipulating Lily, in finding her dream life of a wealthy husband and funding the extravagant lifestyle she dreams of. Using their one night stand for a backbone to build her lies and deception. Talún soon finds himself trapped in a situation that leaves him hopeless and powerless to be with the woman he loves. His only chance of hope lays with sleepy summer secrets from the past to set him free and for a chance of love.

With a lost love theme. A tangled web of a love triangle, that slowly becomes untangled, revealing the truth. If you have read Jo Lambert books you will be acquainted with the characters in this book. It was great to return to their world and catch up and get the next instalment of what happens next. The book can also be read as a standalone story too, but because all author Jo Lambert books are good, I highly recommend you read them all.

NB December 2016 5* review

 

Although this is the second in a series I read it as a standalone and thoroughly enjoyed it. I love the painting of a community of Lynbrook. I particularly liked the character of Anna. Highly recommend.

MG November 2016 5* review

-o0o-

I thoroughly enjoyed this book which follows on from Summer Moved On.

The plot was mostly clear with a couple of twists and the only downside for me was that Lily still ended up with money, freedom and no responsibilities and left people hurt, especially Josh, although he would obviously be better off without her.

Hopefully there could be another book in the future ??

Julie R October 2016 4* review

-o0o-

So enjoyed this romantic journey seen through the eyes of the three main protagonists. Jo’s skill as an author is to bring landscapes and characters to life in equal measure. Please take us back to Lynbrook again one day Jo.

SW November 2016 5* review

-o0o-

I received a free copy of this book from NetGalley in exchange for an honest and independent review.
This story is told through the eyes of three main characters, who have a history in common. But there are secrets from the past which slowly evolve.
The characters are well described by the author and whilst some are nice, others are not. Talún comes across as weak and naïve, unable to see the truth, which I found quite frustrating. Although there is passion burning underneath him. Lily is overbearing, arrogant and thinks she is Lady of the Manor.

LAC, October 2016 3.5* review

-o0o-

It was lovely to catch up with some fabulous fictional characters that we met for the first time in ‘Summer moved on’ and now get to meet again a few years down the line. As the fates of Talún, Jess and her arch-nemesis, Lily, are set on a collision course, this book has the reader inwardly screaming at all three of them at times rather like kids at a pantomime. As if it wasn’t bad enough that Talún left Jess heartbroken when he left before, his return is set to have even more dire consequences and Lily reveals her true colours yet again. Carefully constructed and elegantly narrated this book will have you holding out for a happy ending whilst despairing that such a thing is possible. I found myself holding my breath at the outcome. Some wonderfully crafted sub-characters too make this a book to remember.

Jackie R October 2016 5* review

-o0o-

I have been unable to do anything but sit and read even late into the night as I had to finish this brilliant book. Once again Jo Lambert writes such wonderful characters. It is lovely to be reunited with Jess & Talun and even prize bitch Lily. A cracking unputdownable book, thanks Jo.

LH January 2017 5* review

-o0o-

Amazon.co.uk:Customer Reviews: Watercolours in the Rain (The South Devon Duo Book 2)

I very much enjoyed Summer Moved On, but Watercolours in the Rain is even better.
Finding out what happened to Jess, Talun and Lily – and all the other minor characters – was like hearing about friends and what happened to them.
I was fascinated to see how Jo Lambert managed to get the “right” ending – very cleverly written, I thought. Thank you for making it all right.
TJ January 2017 5* review

-o0o-

I wondered in my review of Summer Moved On how Jess and Talun’s worlds could ever come back together again with the distance between Amberleigh and Lynbrook … July 2012 and Jess receives the phone call from Rufus that changes all her plans and sees her back in Lynbrook. August 2012 and we find out the devastation that happened to Talun in the intervening five years. He’s vulnerable and lost his passion for life. Annie, his step-grandmother, sees an opportunity in Lynbrook Hall for Talun to get involved with a project … not knowing his truthful history with the village. October 2012 and we find out what happened when Lily returned to Pauli and her ambitions and hopes. So first we have Jess back, then Talun and Lily. And what a potent mix they are! Early on in the story I have to admit that I thought Lily had matured. How wrong I was!

I loved the pace of this story. In true Jo Lambert style there is plenty of secrecy, intrigue and conflict. The friendship blossoming between Anna and Jess was a beautiful part of the story and I wondered if it would weather what was coming.

Jo is skilled at creating characters to dislike and oh my! I disliked Lily intensely. She made me so angry and several times I had to put the story down (in a good way) so that I could calm down. Just when you think it can’t get any worse …

Talun HAS matured in this second novel and I loved him for his sacrifices although he’s still an alpha male and there were many times I had my head in my hands at his naivete. You just have to love his vulnerability (and of course he’s hot!).

I wasn’t sure if Jess and Talun would ever get their happy ending. The lead up to the ending was nail biting and tense.

Even though Watercolours in the Rain is the second novel, there is enough back story that it can be read as a stand alone (although I do think you should read Summer Moved On for the history – the force of the angst and conflict between the characters).

SG January 2017 4* review
-o0o-

Amazon.co.uk:Customer Reviews: Watercolours in the Rain (The South Devon Duo Book 2)

hough I hadn’t read Summer Moved On (The South Devon Duo Book 1) Jo Lambert’s first book in the series, I had no trouble following the story and discovering the personalities of the characters involved. (It wasn’t until I began this review that I read the blurb and realised how much Watercolours in the Rain can indeed be a stand-alone novel.) Any past action from the previous book was subtly and cleverly inserted; either into the dialogue, brought out through memories, or the descriptions of the settings, or how the characters have evolved..
I don’t give spoilers away in my reviews so I’d just like to say why I so liked this novel.
First of all Watercolours in the Rain is written in a style that I love; different points of view presented by each of the characters. In this case, Jess, Lily and Talún, all with their own voice There is no doubt whose dialogue it is and as the story progresses the characters are given greater depth; leaving it to the reader who to have empathy with… and who to detest. And, believe me, there are one or two really detestable characters that I became angry with. (being so involved that I still feel some emotion, whatever it is, when I’ve put the book down, is always a good sign that I’m reading a brilliant story) .
Both the internal and the spoken dialogue is realistic and, as I say above, distinctive to each character.
The characters are rounded and believable without unnecessary detail of how each looks; this is drip -fed throughout the book..
The descriptions give a great sense of place.
I thought the plot line both clever and, sometimes, surprising.I liked the author’s style of writing; so easy to read and yet constantly throwing up tantalising twists and turns.
And, best of all, it’s a good story. I hope to read more from Jo Lambert.
So, as you may gather, I would thoroughly recommend Watercolours in the Rain
JA January 2017 4* review
Goodreads Review from The Writing Garnet | A place to share a passion for wonderful books and writing!  
https://s0.wp.com/wp-content/themes/pub/adelle/js/html5.js

‘Watercolours in the Rain’ caught me off guard on more than one occasion. There I was, laying on my sofa with the calm and serene looking book cover imprinted in my mind, trying to work out the storyline that was unravelling before my very own eyes. Then suddenly, out of nowhere, the storyline proved itself to be anything other than calm and serene. To say that I was surprised by the unexpected direction that the storyline took, would be an understatement! I’m just glad that did my usual trick of not reading the blurb beforehand as I don’t think I would have enjoyed the storyline as much because of it. For me, the blurb takes away the surprise element and I feel that Jo Lambert has done an impressive job with the rollercoaster elements as it is, without the outline of them being given away before the reader has had a chance to find them out.

I hadn’t read the first book in the series before I began this one, so I was a little bit concerned about keeping up with everything that had gone on previously. To begin with, I did get a little confused but that soon subsided as each character’s past got spoken about in their new lives, making the dots easier to connect. Overall, the storyline flips between three characters; Talún, Jess and Lily, all three most certainly being one of a kind. I am going to be really blunt; I DETESTED Lily. I actually felt sorry for her to begin with but in no time at all, she outed herself as such a vindictive, evil, manipulative liar – yes, I got angry. Really angry in fact as Lily had a little boy who got dragged into her way of thinking, and well, lets just say my own mumma bear instincts tried to claw their way out of me. Truthfully, I am quite surprised that Jo Lambert didn’t turn the storyline into a crime novel and put Lily’s character somewhere else! I actually don’t think I have despised a character in a book, as much as I did Lily.

All the way through the novel, the storyline kept changing direction. There was always something amiss, a character stirring the pot, and even A LOT of ‘he said she said’. ‘Watercolours in the Rain’ didn’t strike me (based on cover & title) as the sort of book to contain multiple levels of depth and nitty-gritty circumstances, but it really does. I was pleasantly surprised and loved being a fly on the wall as it were, to the drama filled moments; even if I did want to grab a couple of the characters by the shoulders and shake them, telling them to grow a pair.

For a book that turned out to be the complete opposite of what I expected, I am amazed by how Jo Lambert managed to write about many overlapping circumstances and firework situations, whilst still keeping the reader’s interest and the storyline flowing. To write in a character that is utterly vile is a brave but extremely clever move as even though Lily was not my favourite person, she is still a character that unleashed different emotions within me and got me talking.

If a book wasn’t well written, it wouldn’t have had those clever moments, surprising elements and multiple rollercoaster rides; which is why I can safely say that ‘Watercolours in the Rain’ IS extremely well written and such a dark horse.

-o0o-

Karma?

This book is a departure in style for Jo. It’s written through 3 of the main characters eyes so we get to know their motives and plans. Six years on from the first book, the personalities have matured. The plot is cleverly woven into their hopes & circumstances and the less likeable characters get their come uppance. A great read.

JK March ’17 5* review

Wonderful story, beautifully written. A perfect combination

Watercolours in the Rain follows on from Summer Moved On, a beautifully written story, looking at love, life, prejudice and preconception, which left me with such a strong sense of the characters, they stayed with me. Jo Lambert has excelled herself with this next book in the story of Talún, Jess and Lily, set in the village of Lynbrook in South Devon. I truly had an ‘ah’ moment when we saw Talún seated at a bar. Even I recognised him from behind. By then, knowing his upbringing, how difficult it was to imagine himself worthy of love, aware of the latest devastating trauma in his life, my heart immediately went out to him. He’s defensive, yet caring, naïve to a degree, and – vulnerable, particularly to someone as manipulative and scheming as Lily, whose desire to steal Talún away from Jess years ago was born of spite and jealousy.

I love that we had, in fact, moved on and that the main characters had matured, yet were still susceptible to their insecurities. This is a wonderful strength of Jo Lambert’s writing, she brings to life real people with distinct voices and strong narrative, not to mention the beautifully painted backdrop. Love, hope, deceit and disappointment are all part of the human condition and the author leads us through the emotions alongside the characters enchantingly. Ultimately, we want the journey to go full circle when fate brings them all back together, for Jess and Talún to find each other again after the bitterness and betrayal that ended their youthful relationship.

The question is, can they? At first glance, Lily also appears to have matured. Now a mother, she has responsibilities. She’s secured herself a steady job. Fundamentally, though, she hasn’t changed. Can anyone at the core? Knowing the deceit the woman is capable of and learning of the loss that Talún has suffered since losing Jess (trying not to give spoilers here, but imagine the worst loss a husband and father can suffer), you have an inkling of how far Lily will go to trap him and secure her future.

Watercolours in the Rain can be read as a standalone, the backstory is very cleverly drip fed throughout. I would highly recommend reading Summer Moved On, too, however. Like me, you really will want to ‘move on’ to the next book and follow the characters’ stories. A definite five star read for me. Oh, and those covers. A perfect package.

Amazon Reader 12th May 5* review